The Phoenix Symphony is excited to announce we are upgrading to a new, easy-to-use ticketing system. During this transition, our TICKETING SYSTEM IS DOWN September 11, 12, 13, and 14. Our new ticketing system will be live on September 15. Sorry for any inconvenience. Feel free to browse our performances in the meantime.

Mozart & Shostakovich: The Power of 10

Mozart & Shostakovich: The Power of 10

Tito Muñoz, conductor
Michael Stephen Brown, piano
Adam Golka, piano

Dmitri Shostakovich struggled his entire life to maintain his integrity as an artist while also serving the Soviet state as required. His 10th Symphony, completed after the death of dictator Joseph Stalin, was a balancing act as well as a mid-life crisis set to music. The Phoenix Symphony welcomes pianists Michael Stephen Brown and Adam Golka to play Mozart’s Concerto for Two Pianos (No. 10), which Mozart composed for himself and his sister, Maria Anna, to perform. Tito Muñoz conducts the world premiere of a new piece by multidisciplinary artist Annie Nikunen exploring the connections between movement and sound.

Concert Repertoire
Annie Nikunen: The Sound of Space Between Us
Mozart: Concerto for Two Pianos
Shostakovich: Symphony No. 10

The Phoenix Symphony’s Preludes series returns for the 2023-2024 season! Preludes
will take place prior to select performances with activities that will be sure to delight the
whole family! Prepare to hear live musical performances, discover new artworks,
explore the dances and traditions of new cultures, and much, much more!

Mozart & Shostakovich: The Power of 10 Preludes – Begin One Hour Prior to Performance

You can never have enough strings, from classical to contemporary, and everything in between! Join us for an electrifying pre-concert hoedown with the Gilbert Town Fiddlers and the charming sounds of bluegrass, folk, and good ol’ country jammin’!

The Preludes Series is brought to you by



Interested in attending 4 or more performances?
Become a subscriber and save 20%!

Apr 26-28

Symphony Hall
Share this Event


Signup for our Email List