The Phoenix Symphony is excited to announce we are upgrading to a new, easy-to-use ticketing system. During this transition, our TICKETING SYSTEM IS DOWN September 11, 12, 13, and 14. Our new ticketing system will be live on September 15. Sorry for any inconvenience. Feel free to browse our performances in the meantime.

Mature Masterpieces by Mozart & Rachmaninoff

Mature Masterpieces by Mozart & Rachmaninoff

José Luis Gomez, conductor
Rachel Barton Pine, violin

Enjoy music by composers at the pinnacle of their powers but also near the end of their days. Mozart’s Overture to The Magic Flute sets the scene for his final opera, which debuted just nine weeks before his death. Guest conductor José Luis Gomez whips up a frenzy of emotion with Rachmaninoff’s tumultuous Symphonic Dances, brimming with nostalgia for 19th century Russia. The eminent violinist Rachel Barton Pine returns to The Phoenix Symphony as soloist for the Violin Concerto No. 2 composed by Florence Price, the first African-American woman to have a symphony performed by a major orchestra.

Concert Repertoire
Mozart: The Magic Flute: Overture, K. 620
Florence Price: Violin Concerto No. 2
Rachmaninoff: Symphonic Dances


Join Guest Artist and Violinist Rachel Barton Pine at 11 AM on Saturday, November 18th at Changing Hands Phoenix as she shares insights on the “Coloring Book of Black Composers” produced by The Rachel Barton Pine Foundation.

Interested in attending 4 or more performances?
Become a subscriber and save 20%!

Nov 17-19

Share this Event


Signup for our Email List